top of page

What are the Mandatory Insurance Requirements in Illinois?

The State of Illinois imposes mandatory insurance requirements for drivers operating a motor vehicle in Illinois. According to the Illinois Secretary of State, an Illinois driver is in compliance with Illinois mandatory insurance law if they have vehicle liability insurance in the following minimum amounts:

  • $25,000 - injury or death of one person in an accident;

  • $50,000 - injury or death of more than one person in an accident; and

  • $20,000 - damage to property of another person.

Furthermore, an driver operating a motor vehicle in Illinois must always carry their insurance card in their vehicle and must show it upon request by any law enforcement officer. A driver or car owner's signature on the Vehicle Renewal Registration Application affirms that the vehicle is properly insured throughout the registration period.

In sum, not only is it the law to have vehicle liability insurance in the State of Illinois, but an Illinois driver must also meet the above-mentioned minimum amounts. If a driver in Illinois does not meet the aforementioned requirements, he or she can be fined anywhere from $500 to $1,000 for their first offense, and can even get their license suspended. The penalties increase with aggravating circumstances, such as multiple offenses and/or involvement in an automotive accident that causes bodily harm to another person.

So if you or a loved one is planning on driving an automobile in Illinois, be certain you have valid vehicle liability insurance to avoid the risk of being subject to fines and/or license suspension. It is also highly recommended you obtain a policy with high uninsured/underinsured coverage for additional protection against damages sustained in an accident. If you have any questions about insurance, feel free to contact the experienced attorneys at Ball & McCann, P.C. for a free consultation so we can assist you with all of your insurance related needs.

bottom of page